Landing In A New Place

If you’ve been reading the blog Melissa Mitchell Yoga then you know that my life has been full of upheaval and change. Six months ago a lot of the old, hurtful, really not good stuff went out the window. It happened in one fell swoop, it hurt, it was messy and embarrassing, but it got me to a better place. A much better place.

So it’s been a few months of licking my wounds.  And then wonderful things began to happen. I had made a move to  start a new life and I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to stay in my new city. I did and Boston is starting to feel like home. I am successfully splitting my time between Boston and Lawrence, Kansas where my kids live for most of the year. I have a new group of great friends that make me laugh and think, challenge my beliefs and help me grow. I have new love. Surprisingly, I found someone that I fit with. After a lifetime of relationships and a belief that I needed to compromise and sacrifice I have love that asks me to do neither. I am wildly, unbelievable happy, content and inspired in this new relationship.

In some ways this change has been about redefining Melissa. In other ways it’s been about embracing Melissa. It’s been about seeing my work in a new light. It’s realizing what is good and working and what needs to be worked on and what needs to be discarded.

It’s also been about making some leaps of faith. Staying in Boston and being away from my kids has been incredibly hard. Starting work new in a new place has been frustrating. I no longer have the safety and comfort of a fifteen year reputation in one place. Learning how to translate that has been frustrating and made me want to throw glass several times.

But it’s Spring. I teach and believe that this is a time of renewal and rejuvenation. So, I’m dusting off the old parts and figuring out how to make them fit in new ways. It’s a tough trick, but slowly, slowly I’m learning how to do it professional.

Thus, A Yogi Kitchen. My baby that I’ve dreamt of and wished for. It’s a culmination of my 20 years working in and finally owning a restaurant and catering business combined with my fifteen years of teaching and being a yoga therapist.

Like life, it’s a work in progress. I have given up hope of presenting anything polished and perfect. It just wouldn’t be mine. The website is a real work in progress, but I invite you to take a peek and tell me what you think. AYogiKitchen.com.

Follow me, check in often, make suggestions, write for the website and check us out on Pinterest, YouTube and Twitter.

Leave a comment